5 Gluten Substitute Foods to Enable Your Healthier Lifestyle

Want to get started eating gluten-free? Use these gluten substitute foods to see how easy changing your diet in this way can be.

Over 3 million Americans live with celiac disease. Those with wheat allergies and gluten sensitivity account for 6% of the population in the United States. All these people must avoid gluten in their diet.

If you’re someone who can’t have gluten in their diet or believe you feel healthier without gluten, then you’re no doubt interested in gluten substitute foods.

Let’s explore some of your gluten-free options.

5 Gluten Substitute Foods

A dietary restriction can be frustrating when you can’t eat whatever you want. It’s also surprising how many dishes have gluten in them.

While shopping, you’ll want to focus on looking for wheat-free foods and oat bran substitutes. If a recipe you’re cooking calls for these ingredients, there are multiple gluten-free options available.

Luckily, many places now provide gluten-free options or even specialize in this dietary requirement. For example, if you’re craving a wrap, some places offer gluten free wraps.

Now, let’s dive into what your alternative choices are.

1. Pasta

Substitute pasta with rice, millet, buckwheat, or corn noodles for a wheat-free meal.

2. Flour

If your recipe calls for flour, you have several alternative flour options. Depending on the recipe, you’ll need to choose your option based on taste.

Gluten-free flour alternatives are almond flour, brown rice flour, tapioca flour, white rice flour, banana flour, chickpea flour, and more.

3. Thickener

Because gravies and sauces require flour or another gluten-filled ingredient to help with thickening, alternatives are in high demand here.

For a gluten-free thickening agent, try agar powder, guar gum powder, or xanthan gum powder.

4. Bread Crumbs

If a meal calls for the addition of bread crumbs, like some casseroles, you can use gluten-free oats as a substitute. You could also try using gluten-free flax or fiber cereal and crushing it over the top of the dish.

5. Soy Sauce

Almost all soy sauce contains wheat, which means it has gluten. Instead, give tamari a try. It’s similar to soy sauce and is wheat-free.

Do Potatoes Have Gluten?

Since gluten is a protein that’s found in wheat, rye, and other grains, potatoes are safe. Potatoes are a starchy vegetable with no hint of gluten.

Is Corn Gluten-Free?

Corn is yet another starchy vegetable. Whether you eat it right off the cob or have it out of a frozen bag, it’ll remain gluten-free.

On Your Way to a Healthier Diet

Eating a gluten-free diet doesn’t have to be a painful affair. There are many substitutes out there that can replace traditional ingredients containing gluten.

While shopping, always keep in mind the potential for cross-contamination. If you’re a person with celiac disease, this is all the more important. 

In some stores, flour and sugar are stored right beside each other. In these instances, it’s possible for flour particles to get onto the bag of sugar.

We hope this article gave you several ideas for the type of gluten substitute you need for a dish. Please take a moment to browse our site for other great reads.

Previous Article

The Future of Food Delivery

Next Article

What’s the Right Tattoo for You? The Artist and the Art

Related Posts
120509-dangelo
Read More

D’Angelo: Sh*t, Damn, Motherf***er

Another reason why the people needs D’angelo to bring that ol’ skool back… [audio:http://theurbantwist.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/05-Shit-Damn-Motherfucker.mp3|titles=D’Angelo – Shit, Damn, Motherfucker]